The Assassin’s Blade (#0.1-0.5)

The Assassin's Blade


Celaena Sardothien is Adarlan's most feared assassin. As part of the Assassin's Guild, her allegiance is to her master, Arobynn Hamel, yet Celaena listens to no one and trusts only her fellow killer-for-hire, Sam. In these action-packed novellas - together in one edition for the first time - Celaena embarks on five daring missions. They take her from remote islands to hostile deserts, where she fights to liberate slaves and seeks to avenge the tyrannous. But she is acting against Arobynn's orders and could suffer an unimaginable punishment for such treachery. Will Celaena ever be truly free? Explore the dark underworld of this kick-ass heroine to find out.  (Summary and cover courtesy of


In this collection of novellas, we get to know Celaena a little better and how she became who she was by the time we pick up the story in “Throne of Glass”.  Since they’re all a little different, I’ll make a note on each of the stories individually.

The Assassin and the Pirate Lord (Throne of Glass #0.1) – This story gives us the context for Celaena’s relationship with Sam and how she started to diverge from her training.  I think this novella really sets the foundation for her morals and ultimately the direction she chooses to follow in her life.

The Assassin and the Healer (Throne of Glass #0.2) – This story gives the context of Celaena’s long journey of ego checks that continue for the duration of the series.  In this book, we get a sense of why Celaena think she’s so impressive because she just hasn’t been challenged.  Yrene on the other hand is a sheltered woman looking for opportunity and at least Celaena is still in tune with the world enough to give her an escape route.  I hope we see more of her in later books!

The Assassin and the Desert (Throne of Glass #0.3) – This novella was great, Celaena is cut down to size a bit and Ansel brings some major truths to Celaena’s attention.  She’s forced to realize that compared to many of the others training with the Mute Master, she’s letting her impatience and ego get in her own way.  The main purpose of this book is to get a sense of where Ansel is coming from and I am quite confident we haven’t seen the last of her.

The Assassin and the Underworld (Throne of Glass #0.4) – This story is when we finally get to see Sam and Celaena’s relationship bloom.  I love the way they watch out for each other and work together.  They really don’t get enough time to enjoy themselves before chaos happens.  I won’t say more because unless you know what happens, it’ll be a spoiler!

The Assassin and the Empire (Throne of Glass #0.5) – In this book we have our heart broken as the inevitable happens.  If you have read later books in the series you know what is coming, but it doesn’t make it any easier.  I actually found it a bit abrupt!  This sets the stage for the rage and motivation coming and what is seen in “Throne of Glass”.

Warning: Contains repeated violence.

Rating: 5 stars!

Who should read it? I’d actually recommend reading this after at least “Heir of Fire” due to foreshadowing and references.

Want to read the whole series?