Summer at Little Beach Street Bakery (Little Beach Street Bakery #2)

Summer at Little Beach Street Bakery

Summary:

Summer has arrived in the Cornish town of Mount Polbearne and Polly Waterford couldn't be happier. Because Polly is in love: she's in love with the beautiful seaside town she calls home, she's in love with running the bakery on Beach Street, and she's in love with her boyfriend, Huckle.

And yet there's something unsettling about the gentle summer breeze that's floating through town. Selina, recently widowed, hopes that moving to Mount Polbearne will ease her grief, but Polly has a secret that could destroy her friend's fragile recovery. Responsibilities that Huckle thought he'd left behind are back and Polly finds it hard to cope with his increasingly long periods of absence.

Polly sifts flour, kneads dough and bakes bread, but nothing can calm the storm she knows is coming: is Polly about to lose everything she loves(Summary and cover courtesy of goodreads.com)

Please note: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review courtesy of the publisher.

Review:

I loved this book.  Polly has be experimenting in the kitchen making bread and I have to admit I was adoring pictures of puffins while reading.  This was one of those all-around feel good books that has a great balance of realism, conflict, good times and romance.   Colgan does a wonderful job with the imagery of the quant little town and the food most of all.

I will definitely be going back and reading the first in the series although I didn’t feel lost having jumped in the middle of the series.   All in all, this was a great read in the vein of Kirsten Proby and I will definitely be reading more by the author.

Warning: Contains some sexual content.

Rating: 5 stars!

Who should read it? Anyone looking for a “beach read” style book or just a little food porn!

Want to read the whole series?

  • Little Beach Street Bakery (Little Beach Street Bakery #1)