The Secret Destiny of Pixie Piper

The Secret Destiny of Pixie Piper

Summary:

Pixie Piper, an ordinary fifth grader, discovers she is a direct descendent of Mother Goose, and she has the magical ability and poetry power to prove it! A lively and funny twist on a classic character for fans of the Clementine books, Wendy Mass, and Lisa Graff.

Fifth grader Pixie Piper has always known she was a little different. She has a wild mop of hair that won’t stay put, her best friend is a boy, and to top it all off, she’s constantly coming up with rhymes and poems that just seem to pop out of her. Then, when Pixie thinks it can’t get any worse, she finds out that she actually is different—she’s a descendant of Mother Goose! This surprising and clever novel features family, friendship, poetry, a toilet museum, just the right amount of magic, as well as a goose, a fox, and a beautiful golden retriever puppy. Rich, multigenerational characters and the real and powerful portrayal of grade school friendships, with all their ups and downs, distinguishes this terrific elementary school story that will appeal to fans of Judy Moody, Clementine, and novels by Wendy Mass and Lisa Graff.  (Summary and cover courtesy of goodreads.com)

Please note: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review courtesy of the publisher.

Review:

This was a very cute read.  Although rhyming is not my favorite thing in the world, this book won me over.  It is wonderfully pulled together with Pixie having to handle both personal and magical challenges that she runs into.  She is also forced to learn when to react and when to restrain herself when threatened by the mean girl in the book.  There are no doubts in Pixie’s mind as to what’s important in the world and I think that’s an important lesson.  In the book, Pixie and Gray are in the fifth grade and that seems like it’d be the perfect age for reading it.  I will certainly be looking forward to the sequel!

Warning: Contains mild violence.

Rating: 5 stars!

Who should read it? Middle grade kids looking for a relatable spunky heroine who is not afraid of a challenge.

Want to read the whole series? Sequel TBD