The Ruby Circle (Bloodlines #6)

The Ruby Circle


Sydney Sage is an Alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of humans and vampires. They protect vampire secrets - and human lives.

Their forbidden romance exposed, Sydney and Adrian find themselves facing the wrath of both the Alchemists and the Moroi in this electrifying conclusion to Richelle Mead’s bestselling Bloodlines series.

When the life of someone they both love is put on the line, Sydney risks everything to hunt down a deadly former nemesis. Meanwhile, she and Adrian becomes enmeshed in a puzzle that could hold the key to a shocking secret about spirit magic, a secret that could shake the entire Moroi world and alter their lives forever.  (Summary and cover courtesy of


Somehow throughout “The Bloodlines” series I fell in love with it even more than “The Vampire Academy” though it is a close one.  In this book we finally have a lot of loose ends tied up and the much-needed stability show up.  The one thing that I wish had been included was an epilogue of Sydney and Adrian travelling the world a bit!

But back to this book specifically: I had no idea how Mead was going to be able to account for so many of the spinning plots in one book, but somehow she manages it.  The book is certainly non-stop action, almost unbelievable, but the whole series is like that.  I think this is the book where Adrian and Sydney finally manage to balance their sometimes bipolar relationship.  I know there are some complaints of them becoming exclusively about each other, but I think it is to each of their improvement.  I also liked the tie-in at the end with…cooperation among different groups (sorry trying to avoid a spoiler), which brings hope to the future.  And, of course, there is some room for a spin-off series or book or two should Mead decide she wants to continue.

Warning: Contains some violence and reference to sexual content

Rating: 5 stars!

Who should read it? Fans of the series – squee worthy finale to both series!

Want to read the whole series?

  • Bloodlines (Bloodlines #1)
  • The Golden Lily (Bloodlines #2)
  • The Indigo Spell (Bloodlines #3)
  • The Fiery Heart (Bloodlines #4)
  • Silver Shadows (Bloodlines #5)