Sora’s Quest (The Cat’s Eye #1)

Sora's Quest

Summary:

Sora Fallcrest always dreamed of adventure, but as a member of the nobility, she learned the ways of a Lady instead. Now seventeen, she is expected to choose a husband and marry. She plots to run away, but just as she is stepping out the door, she runs into a mysterious man--and is kidnapped.

Abducted from her manor, Sora is plunged into a world of magical races, arcane jewelry and forgotten lore. She finds herself at the mercy of a dangerous assassin, haunted by an even darker past. She yearns for freedom, but he won't let her go--not when her Cat's Eye necklace is the only thing that can save his life.

But the necklace itself presents a problem. It is an ancient device from the long forgotten War of the Races, and its magic has the ability to steal souls. Can Sora learn to wield its power -- or will the power wield her? (Summary and cover courtesy of goodreads.com)

Review:

I can honestly say this was the best series that I’ve read in a long time.  The world stopped and I was not going to get anything done until I had read all the available books (and was distraught to find there was still another to come, but it will be released soon!). 

In the vein of Tamora Pierce’s Alanna books, Sora yearns for something different than what is planned for her.  Soon she takes her future into her own hands and stumbles into adventure – though it may not be the one she planned on.  Note: Despite the cover making Sora look like a ditz, but she is not at all.  Initially she is whiny, she quickly learned to be more self-sufficient and take her future into her own hands.  The cover and summary really do not do this book justice. 

The characters in these books are fascinating.  Each has depth, a backstory and a culture of their own that merges into a fantastic world that was easy to get lost in.  I would highly recommend these books for anyone who is a fan of action and adventure young adult books.

Bonus: "Sora's Quest" is available permanently for free!

Warning: Contains violence

Rating: 5 stars!

Who should read it? All adventure fans!!

Want to read the whole series?