Ferran’s Map (The Cat’s Eye Chronicles #4)

Ferran's Map


The bloodmage Volcrian is dead, but a new enemy lurks in the shadows. The Shade, a fanatical cult of demonic assassins, is trying to resurrect the Dark God and unleash His power back into the world. In their wake, a deadly plague is spreading across the land.

Sora and her companions are the only ones who know of the plague’s true source. As the disease spreads, Sora must journey to the City of Crowns to retrieve The Book of the Named, her only hope of stopping The Shade. She and her companions arrive just in time for the winter solstice festival, a notorious two-weeks of fine wines, grand parties and legendary debauchery. Sora must don the guise of a noblewoman and infiltrate the First Tier nobility to stop The Shade before it’s too late.

Meanwhile, the assassin Crash is confronted by a ghost from his past. As he uncovers more of the Shade’s plot, he finds himself face-to-face with his old Grandmaster, the one who both trained and betrayed him. Can Crash lay to rest his past, or will he succumb to his inner demon and rejoin the man who once made him a killer?  (Summary and cover courtesy of goodreads.com)


Gah! SUCH A TEASE – I thought this was going to be the last in the series, but then I had that moment where I kept clicking my button on my kindle and there was no more.  *SIGH* Well the good news (as of writing this, but it will be released when this posts) is that the next book is coming out soon.

Anyway, this was an interesting book because we got to know a lot more of the other characters in the series that haven’t played a predominant a role up until now.  In particular, I really enjoyed seeing Lori and Ferran’s backstory.  It’s good to see how Sora and Crash are slowly being forced to depend on more people and how they all come together.  Speaking of Sora and Crash, I loved how this book did end (despite wanting more).  I think this is the book that makes it truly apparent how much each of them has changed since the first book.  Sora is quite the independent fighting machine (which I always support)!  I am impatiently waiting for the finale in the series – please come soon!

Warning: Contains violence

Rating: 5 stars!

Who should read it? Adventure fantasy fans!

Want to read the whole series?