A Fine Summers Day (Inspector Ian Rutledge #17)

A Fine Summers Day


New York Times bestselling author Charles Todd takes readers into Scotland Yard detective Ian Rutledge's past-to his perplexing final case before the outbreak of World War I. On a fine summer's day in June, 1914, Ian Rutledge pays little notice to the assassination of an archduke in Sarajevo. An Inspector at Scotland Yard, he is planning to propose to the woman whom he deeply loves, despite intimations from friends and family that she may not be the wisest choice. To the north on this warm and gentle day, another man in love-a Scottish Highlander-shows his own dear girl the house he will build for her in September. While back in England, a son awaits the undertaker in the wake of his widowed mother's death. This death will set off a series of murders across England, seemingly unconnected, that Rutledge will race to solve in the weeks before the fateful declaration in August that will forever transform his world. As the clouds of war gather on the horizon, all of Britain wonders and waits. With every moment at stake, Rutledge sets out to right a wrong-an odyssey that will eventually force him to choose between the Yard and his country, between love and duty, and between honor and truth. (Summary and cover courtesy of goodreads.com)

Please note: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review courtesy of TLC Book Tours.


This was a solid read that I overall enjoyed, but once in a while I found myself having to motivate myself to get back into it.  I’m typically not an easily distracted reader so when I find myself doing other things while reading, that’s not a good sign.  Granted, this was mostly in the beginning when the story was still building.   I found Jean to be insipid and I wish Ian had gotten together with Kate instead.

I do want to give the caveat that I have not read previous books in the series.  Had I known what was being foreshadowed I may have found the overall story more intriguing since it would be filling in the pieces of a story I already know.  I would definitely like to give other books in the series a try, but this one was just so-so for me.

Warning: Contains some violence

Rating: 3 stars!

Who should read it? Mystery fans who have already gotten into the series

Want to read the whole series?

  • A Test of Wills (Inspector Ian Rutledge #1)
  • Wings of Fire (Inspector Ian Rutledge #2)
  • Search the Dark (Inspector Ian Rutledge #3)
  • Legacy of the Dead (Inspector Ian Rutledge #4)
  • Watchers of Time (Inspector Ian Rutledge #5)
  • A Fearsome Doubt (Inspector Ian Rutledge #6)
  • A Cold Treachery (Inspector Ian Rutledge #7)
  • A Long Shadow (Inspector Ian Rutledge #8)
  • A False Mirror (Inspector Ian Rutledge #9)
  • A Pale Horse (Inspector Ian Rutledge #10)
  • Matter of Justice (Inspector Ian Rutledge #11)
  • The Red Door (Inspector Ian Rutledge #12)
  • The Kidnapping  (Inspector Ian Rutledge #12.5)
  • Lonely Death (Inspector Ian Rutledge #13)
  • The Confession (Inspector Ian Rutledge #14)
  • Proof of Guilt (Inspector Ian Rutledge #15)
  • Hunting Shadows (Inspector Ian Rutledge #16)
  • Cold Comfort (Inspector Ian Rutledge #16.5)
  • No Shred of Evidence (Inspector Ian Rutledge #18)