A Shade of Vampire (A Shade of Vampire #1)

A Shade of Vampire

Summary:

On the evening of Sofia Claremont's seventeenth birthday, she is sucked into a nightmare from which she cannot wake.

A quiet evening walk along a beach brings her face to face with a dangerous pale creature that craves much more than her blood.

She is kidnapped to an island where the sun is eternally forbidden to shine.
An island uncharted by any map and ruled by the most powerful vampire coven on the planet. She wakes here as a slave, a captive in chains.

Sofia's life takes a thrilling and terrifying turn when she is the one selected out of hundreds of girls to join the harem of Derek Novak, the dark royal Prince.

Despite his addiction to power and obsessive thirst for her blood, Sofia soon realizes that the safest place on the island is within his quarters, and she must do all within her power to win him over if she is to survive even one more night.

Will she succeed? ...or is she destined to the same fate that all other girls have met at the hands of the Novaks?  (Summary and book cover courtesy of goodreads.com)

Review:

ANGSTY ANGST ANGST.  Don’t get me wrong, I found this book highly entertaining at times and I adored the scenery in the book (hidden island? Yes!), but I couldn’t handle all of the rampant emotions.  This was one of the few situations that the young adult genre should have been left to the young adults.  It pains me to say so, but it’s true.  I could have seen myself LOVING this series in 7th/8th/Freshman year of high school, but in my mid-twenties I struggled.  For some reason I forced myself through four books of the series before letting it rest.

Sofia and Derek are certainly in the vein of Bella and Edward, but they have very different challenges to overcome.  At least Sofia and Derek have serious issues to manage like a pseudo-kingdom and fights for your life.  Good story, but not my cup of tea.

Warning: Contains violence

Rating: 3 stars!

Who should read it? Twilight fans and young adults!

Want to read the whole series?

  • A Shade of Blood (A Shade of Vampire #2)
  • A Castle of Sand (A Shade of Vampire #3)
  • A Shadow of Light (A Shade of Vamipre #4)
  • A Blaze of Sun (A Shade of Vampire #5)
  • A Gate of Night (A Shade of Vampire #6)
  • A Break of Day (A Shade of Vampire #7)
  • A Shade of Novak (A Shade of Vampire #8)