Marked (House of the Night #1)



After a Vampire Tracker Marks her with a crescent moon on her forehead, 16-year-old Zoey Redbird enters the House of Night and learns that she is no average fledgling. She has been Marked as special by the vampyre Goddess Nyx and has affinities for all five elements: Air, Fire Water, Earth and Spirit. But she is not the only fledgling at the House of Night with special powers. When she discovers that the leader of the Dark Daughters, the school’s most elite club, is mis-using her Goddess-given gifts, Zoey must look deep within herself for the courage to embrace her destiny – with a little help from her new vampyre friends (or Nerd Herd, as Aphrodite calls them) (Summary and book cover courtesy of


The House of the Night series is a fun and new take on the almost exhausted vampire literature trend.  Rather than focusing on a traditional Dracula story, the House of the Night syncs up with Native American stories and does it beautifully.  The series is also written by a mother-daughter duo, which I think is awesome.

My one complaint, if it could even be called a complaint, was the length of the books: it was short.  All the books in this series follow the same trend.  Every time I found myself vaguely annoyed the book was over and I was eager to start the new one.  Overall,  I would definitely recommend the series.

Rating: 4 stars!

Who should read it?  Paranormal fans – great quick reads for an overall great series.

Want to read the whole series?

  • Betrayed (House of the Night #2)
  • Chosen (House of the Night #3)
  • Untamed (House of the Night #4)
  • Hunted (House of the Night #5)
  • Tempted (House of the Night #6)
  • Burned (House of the Night #7)
  • Awakened (House of the Night #8)
  • Destined (House of the Night #9)
  • Hidden (House of the Night #10)
  • Revealed (House of the Night #11)
  • Redeemed (House of the Night #12)