Owlet (Society of Feathers #1)



Iris has a secret. She lost her memory eight years ago and never told a living soul. After an asthma attack one night she finds out that her dreams of a strange house on a snowy island may be a memory resurfacing but the more she learns about the past the more she realizes the life she has been living is a lie. As the façade her father has built starts to crumble around her she will have to decide which means more to her; the truth or her life. (Summary and book cover courtesy of goodreads.com)


This was a fun quick read about people who have souls that slightly different than the normal person.  I’m going ahead and saying that now though it is a very slight spoiler because I originally thought the story was going to be about shape-shifters.  Though I misunderstood, this book was quite unique and a very interesting well thought out society.  “Owlet” is unlike any other book I have read and Iris is like the reader – being thrust into an unfamiliar situation and culture abruptly and having to adapt.

I am very curious to find out more, but as a warning the books should be read as a series.  Throughout the book, many explanations are interrupted, slightly explained later, but still left with a lot of open-ended questions.  Right now, after finishing “Owlet”, I am curious to find out what happened next and don’t feel completely satisfied with just the first book.  That being said, I’d still recommend the series and I am planning to continue reading.  I hope in future books Iris takes more control over her situation. 

Please note: I received a free copy of this book in exchange of an honest review courtesy of author.

Rating: 4 stars!

Who should read it? Young adult fans looking for something new and different, but willing to commit to a series!

Want to read the whole series?

  • Eyrie (Society of Feathers #2)
  • Stryx (Society of Feathers #3)